A Letter to My Little Joy

25 May 2017

To my Little Joy,

You were a surprise; the best kind of surprise. I remember clearly the moment your mother came up to me and said, “Honey, I think I might be pregnant.” After nine years of hoping for another child and threes years of thinking it just wasn’t going to happen, you were given to us. We are so thankful to God for the joy you have given to me, your mother, your sister and your brother…even before we’ve met you! Thank you.

Grace and Elijah are excited and nervous. They can’t wait to hold you. They will be the best big sister and big brother in the world. When you get older you’ll has a best friend as a sister; someone to whom you’ll be able to ask anything. Your brother is going to be your hero and protector.

And you mama?  Well they don’t get any better. She has loved you from the first day she knew about you. She is beautiful with her “baby belly” and she cannot wait to see your little face.

I love you already and I can’t wait to meet you. It might even happen tonight. As your father, I promise to love you and take care of you. I will help prepare you for the life and purpose for which you’ve been created. That is what I can do and I promise to do in the best way that I can for as long as I can. You are my daughter and always will be; I am your father and always will be.

There is much more that could be said, but for now let me just tell you that we are all so excited to meet you. Come and meet us, Little Joy, we are waiting.

Your Daddy

